Skip to content
CTV Ad Finder

SIDE BY SIDE · NO SCORES

Amazon DSP vs Universal Ads: what each platform's own pages state

QUICK ANSWER

Amazon DSP is described as multi-channel DSPs; Universal Ads as publisher ad managers. Of our 19 checks, both state 1: self-serve buying. Only Amazon DSP states managed service option, no-commitment or no-minimum terms, campaigns in plain language, enterprise terms or account team, Prime Video listed and other channels in the same platform; only Universal Ads states published reach or channel count. This page compares what each publishes, not how well either performs.

By The Tuning Desk · CTV Ad Finder · Published 2026-10-18

Built only from each platform's own public pages. We opened no accounts, bought no media and held no demos or vendor interviews.

Amazon DSP (now part of Amazon Ads Agent)

Amazon DSP test card: stated 4 of 8, partly 0, not on the pages we read 4.12345678
  1. 01Self-serve buying Stated

    "with self-service and managed-service options"

    Source: Amazon Ads: Amazon DSP

  2. 02Managed service option Stated

    Managed service through an account executive; the About us FAQ says these campaigns typically require a $50,000 (US) minimum.

    Source: Amazon Ads: About us (FAQ)

  3. 03No-commitment or no-minimum terms Stated

    "DVA+ uses cost per mille (CPM) billing with no minimum spend."

    Source: Amazon Ads: display, video and audio (DVA+)

  4. 04Incrementality or lift testing Not on the pages we read
  5. 05Attribution to visits or sales Not on the pages we read
  6. 06Named measurement partners Not on the pages we read
  7. 07Brand-safety partner named Not on the pages we read
  8. 08Campaigns in plain language Stated

    Amazon Ads Agent: a "conversational experience" to plan, create, optimize and measure campaigns in natural language.

    Source: Amazon Ads: Amazon DSP

  • Stated on the platform's pages
  • Partly stated
  • Not on the pages we read
A filled bar means the platform's own pages state that feature on the date shown. It does not measure how well the feature works, and a dotted bar means only that we did not find it on the pages we read.

Universal Ads

Universal Ads test card: stated 1 of 8, partly 2, not on the pages we read 5.12345678
  1. 01Self-serve buying Stated

    "Self-Serve CTV & TV Advertising Platform"; "Launch in Minutes".

    Source: Universal Ads homepage

  2. 02Managed service option Not on the pages we read
  3. 03No-commitment or no-minimum terms Not on the pages we read
  4. 04Incrementality or lift testing Not on the pages we read
  5. 05Attribution to visits or sales Partly

    Verified partners for cross-channel measurement; methods not described on the homepage.

    Source: Universal Ads homepage

  6. 06Named measurement partners Partly

    Verified measurement partners; names not in the page text.

    Source: Universal Ads homepage

  7. 07Brand-safety partner named Not on the pages we read
  8. 08Campaigns in plain language Not on the pages we read
  • Stated on the platform's pages
  • Partly stated
  • Not on the pages we read
A filled bar means the platform's own pages state that feature on the date shown. It does not measure how well the feature works, and a dotted bar means only that we did not find it on the pages we read.

How do Amazon DSP and Universal Ads compare on the published facts?

Scroll the table sideways

FactAmazon DSPUniversal Ads
Owner

Amazon Ads. Amazon's page says "Amazon DSP is now part of Amazon Ads Agent", with programmatic buying available through "DVA+" (Display, Video, Audio).

Source: Amazon Ads: Amazon DSP

A testimonial on the homepage says "Comcast's Universal Ads"; a formal ownership statement is not on the page we read.

Source: Universal Ads homepage

How you buy

Amazon's page describes Amazon DSP "with self-service and managed-service options", available to advertisers who do and do not sell on Amazon.

Source: Amazon Ads: Amazon DSP

"Self-Serve CTV & TV Advertising Platform" with a "familiar, self-serve workflow" and "Launch in Minutes".

Source: Universal Ads homepage

Entry terms

"DVA+ uses cost per mille (CPM) billing with no minimum spend." Amazon Ads' About us FAQ says managed-service campaigns run through an account executive "typically require a minimum spend of $50,000 (US)".

Source: Amazon Ads: About us (FAQ)

Minimum spend and CPM are not stated on the homepage. Not published

Source: Universal Ads homepage

Pricing

CPM billing for DVA+. A platform fee percentage is not stated on the pages we read. Not published

Source: Amazon Ads: display, video and audio (DVA+)

"no hidden fees". Rates are not stated on the homepage. Not published

Source: Universal Ads homepage

Inventory

Exclusive inventory on "Prime Video, Twitch, Thursday Night Football, Amazon.com, and Fire TV", plus "thousands of premium third-party sites and apps".

Source: Amazon Ads: Amazon DSP

"Reach up to 90% of US households"; Universal Ads states access to 20+ TV brands through the "Universal Audience Network" (network names are not in the page text).

Source: Universal Ads homepage

Measurement

Measurement partners and incrementality testing are not described on the pages we read.

Source: Amazon Ads: Amazon DSP

Verified partners for creative, analytics, audiences and cross-channel measurement; partner names are not in the page text.

Source: Universal Ads homepage

AI and automation

Amazon Ads Agent is described as a "conversational experience" to plan, create, optimize and measure campaigns in natural language.

Source: Amazon Ads: Amazon DSP

A creative tool that "turns your existing content into TV ads". AI optimization is not described on the page we read.

Source: Universal Ads homepage

Check by check

Scroll the table sideways

CheckAmazon DSPUniversal Ads
Self-serve buyingStatedStated
Managed service optionStatedNot on the pages we read
No-commitment or no-minimum termsStatedNot on the pages we read
Incrementality or lift testingNot on the pages we readNot on the pages we read
Attribution to visits or salesNot on the pages we readPartly
Named measurement partnersNot on the pages we readPartly
Brand-safety partner namedNot on the pages we readNot on the pages we read
Campaigns in plain languageStatedNot on the pages we read
Outcome or CPA pricing optionNot on the pages we readNot on the pages we read
Enterprise terms or account teamStatedNot on the pages we read
Agency licensing or multi-account accessNot on the pages we readNot on the pages we read
Netflix listedNot on the pages we readNot on the pages we read
Prime Video listedStatedNot on the pages we read
Disney+ or Hulu listedNot on the pages we readNot on the pages we read
Published reach or channel countPartlyStated
Linear TV buyingNot on the pages we readPartly
Other channels in the same platformStatedNot on the pages we read
AI or automated optimizationNot on the pages we readNot on the pages we read
Manual bid or delivery controlsPartlyNot on the pages we read
Amazon DSP notes
  • Self-serve buying Stated

    "with self-service and managed-service options"

    Source: Amazon Ads: Amazon DSP

  • Managed service option Stated

    Managed service through an account executive; the About us FAQ says these campaigns typically require a $50,000 (US) minimum.

    Source: Amazon Ads: About us (FAQ)

  • No-commitment or no-minimum terms Stated

    "DVA+ uses cost per mille (CPM) billing with no minimum spend."

    Source: Amazon Ads: display, video and audio (DVA+)

  • Campaigns in plain language Stated

    Amazon Ads Agent: a "conversational experience" to plan, create, optimize and measure campaigns in natural language.

    Source: Amazon Ads: Amazon DSP

  • Enterprise terms or account team Stated

    Managed-service campaigns run through an Amazon account executive, per the About us FAQ.

    Source: Amazon Ads: About us (FAQ)

  • Prime Video listed Stated

    Lists exclusive inventory on Prime Video, Twitch, Thursday Night Football, Amazon.com and Fire TV.

    Source: Amazon Ads: Amazon DSP

  • Published reach or channel count Partly

    "thousands of premium third-party sites and apps"; no household reach figure on the page we read.

    Source: Amazon Ads: Amazon DSP

  • Other channels in the same platform Stated

    Programmatic buying through DVA+: display, video and audio.

    Source: Amazon Ads: Amazon DSP

  • Manual bid or delivery controls Partly

    DVA+ offers "advanced settings".

    Source: Amazon Ads: Amazon DSP

Universal Ads notes
  • Self-serve buying Stated

    "Self-Serve CTV & TV Advertising Platform"; "Launch in Minutes".

    Source: Universal Ads homepage

  • Attribution to visits or sales Partly

    Verified partners for cross-channel measurement; methods not described on the homepage.

    Source: Universal Ads homepage

  • Named measurement partners Partly

    Verified measurement partners; names not in the page text.

    Source: Universal Ads homepage

  • Published reach or channel count Stated

    "Reach up to 90% of US households".

    Source: Universal Ads homepage

  • Linear TV buying Partly

    Calls itself a "CTV & TV" platform; linear buying is not detailed on the homepage.

    Source: Universal Ads homepage

Who might shortlist each?

Amazon DSP fits if: Prime Video or Thursday Night Football inventory is a must, or you want streaming TV next to display and audio in one Amazon account.

Look elsewhere if: you want named third-party measurement partners or incrementality testing described on the platform's own pages.

Universal Ads fits if: you want self-serve access to a large TV network group's audience with your existing creative.

Look elsewhere if: you need named networks, named measurement partners or incrementality testing described up front.

Which limits does each list?

Amazon DSP

  • LimitManaged service through an account executive typically requires a $50,000 (US) minimum, per Amazon Ads' FAQ.
  • LimitA platform fee percentage is not stated on the pages we read.
  • LimitMeasurement partners and incrementality testing are not described on the pages we read.

Universal Ads

  • LimitMinimum spend and CPM are not stated on the homepage.
  • LimitNetwork names and measurement partners are not in the page text.
  • LimitIncrementality testing is not described on the page we read.

Frequently asked questions

Is Amazon DSP or Universal Ads the better choice?

Neither, in general. It depends on your answers: run the finder to see which one's published facts match your budget terms, measurement needs and inventory. This page lists what each states, with sources.

Which of Amazon DSP and Universal Ads describes incrementality testing?

Amazon DSP: Not on the pages we read. Universal Ads: Not on the pages we read.

Do Amazon DSP and Universal Ads publish a minimum spend?

Amazon DSP: "DVA+ uses cost per mille (CPM) billing with no minimum spend." Amazon Ads' About us FAQ says managed-service campaigns run through an account executive "typically require a minimum spend of $50,000 (US)". Universal Ads: Minimum spend and CPM are not stated on the homepage.