SIDE BY SIDE · NO SCORES
Roku Ads Manager vs The Trade Desk: what each platform's own pages state
QUICK ANSWER
Roku Ads Manager is described as publisher ad managers; The Trade Desk as multi-channel DSPs. Of our 19 checks, both state 0: none. Only Roku Ads Manager states none; only The Trade Desk states self-serve buying, other channels in the same platform and AI or automated optimization. This page compares what each publishes, not how well either performs.
By The Tuning Desk · CTV Ad Finder · Published 2026-10-18
Built only from each platform's own public pages. We opened no accounts, bought no media and held no demos or vendor interviews.
Roku Ads Manager
- 01Self-serve buying Partly
The cost guide describes launching with existing creative, an optional maximum bid and pay-as-it-delivers billing.
Source: Roku Ads: how much does it cost to advertise on Roku
- 02Managed service option Not on the pages we read
- 03No-commitment or no-minimum terms Partly
No upfront payment: "Pay as your campaign delivers". The $500 figure is guidance, not a stated minimum.
Source: Roku Ads: how much does it cost to advertise on Roku
- 04Incrementality or lift testing Not on the pages we read
- 05Attribution to visits or sales Not on the pages we read
- 06Named measurement partners Not on the pages we read
- 07Brand-safety partner named Not on the pages we read
- 08Campaigns in plain language Not on the pages we read
- Stated on the platform's pages
- Partly stated
- Not on the pages we read
The Trade Desk
- 01Self-serve buying Stated
The DSP page describes a "simple self-serve experience".
- 02Managed service option Not on the pages we read
- 03No-commitment or no-minimum terms Not on the pages we read
- 04Incrementality or lift testing Not on the pages we read
- 05Attribution to visits or sales Partly
Measurement through a marketplace of measurement partners, online and in-store.
Source: The Trade Desk homepage
- 06Named measurement partners Partly
A marketplace of measurement partners; partner names are not on the pages we read.
Source: The Trade Desk homepage
- 07Brand-safety partner named Partly
States a marketplace of "data, measurement, brand safety, and inventory providers"; names are not on the pages we read.
- 08Campaigns in plain language Not on the pages we read
- Stated on the platform's pages
- Partly stated
- Not on the pages we read
How do Roku Ads Manager and The Trade Desk compare on the published facts?
Scroll the table sideways
| Fact | Roku Ads Manager | The Trade Desk |
|---|---|---|
| Owner | Roku. Source: Roku Ads: how much does it cost to advertise on Roku | A public company with an investor relations site. |
| How you buy | Roku's cost guide (February 25, 2026) walks through starting a campaign with your existing creative, setting an optional maximum bid and paying as the campaign delivers. Source: Roku Ads: how much does it cost to advertise on Roku | Its DSP page describes a "simple self-serve experience"; the homepage "Get started" button leads to a contact form (name, work email, company). |
| Entry terms | Guidance, not a stated hard minimum: "get started with existing creative and as little as $500", and $500–$1,000 is enough to get a campaign live for most first-time advertisers, per Roku's guide dated February 25, 2026. Source: Roku Ads: how much does it cost to advertise on Roku | No public pricing or minimum on the pages we read. Source: The Trade Desk homepage |
| Pricing | "CPM pricing model"; "Pricing is dynamic"; no upfront payment: "Pay as your campaign delivers". Source: Roku Ads: how much does it cost to advertise on Roku | Fees are not stated on the pages we read. Not published |
| Inventory | Inventory beyond Roku is not described on the page we read. Source: Roku Ads: how much does it cost to advertise on Roku | An omnichannel DSP for audio, connected TV, digital out-of-home, mobile, display, native and video. It states "we don't own or operate media". Named CTV publishers are not stated on the pages we read. Not published |
| Measurement | Measurement and attribution are not described on the page we read. Source: Roku Ads: how much does it cost to advertise on Roku | A marketplace of measurement partners, online and in-store. Partner names are not on the pages we read. Source: The Trade Desk homepage |
| AI and automation | An "AI video upscaler" for creative. AI optimization is not described on the page we read. Source: Roku Ads: how much does it cost to advertise on Roku | Kokai, which The Trade Desk says "analyzes up to 15 million ad opportunities each second". |
Check by check
Scroll the table sideways
| Check | Roku Ads Manager | The Trade Desk |
|---|---|---|
| Self-serve buying | Partly | Stated |
| Managed service option | Not on the pages we read | Not on the pages we read |
| No-commitment or no-minimum terms | Partly | Not on the pages we read |
| Incrementality or lift testing | Not on the pages we read | Not on the pages we read |
| Attribution to visits or sales | Not on the pages we read | Partly |
| Named measurement partners | Not on the pages we read | Partly |
| Brand-safety partner named | Not on the pages we read | Partly |
| Campaigns in plain language | Not on the pages we read | Not on the pages we read |
| Outcome or CPA pricing option | Not on the pages we read | Not on the pages we read |
| Enterprise terms or account team | Not on the pages we read | Partly |
| Agency licensing or multi-account access | Not on the pages we read | Not on the pages we read |
| Netflix listed | Not on the pages we read | Not on the pages we read |
| Prime Video listed | Not on the pages we read | Not on the pages we read |
| Disney+ or Hulu listed | Not on the pages we read | Not on the pages we read |
| Published reach or channel count | Not on the pages we read | Not on the pages we read |
| Linear TV buying | Not on the pages we read | Not on the pages we read |
| Other channels in the same platform | Not on the pages we read | Stated |
| AI or automated optimization | Not on the pages we read | Stated |
| Manual bid or delivery controls | Partly | Not on the pages we read |
Roku Ads Manager notes
- Self-serve buying Partly
The cost guide describes launching with existing creative, an optional maximum bid and pay-as-it-delivers billing.
Source: Roku Ads: how much does it cost to advertise on Roku
- No-commitment or no-minimum terms Partly
No upfront payment: "Pay as your campaign delivers". The $500 figure is guidance, not a stated minimum.
Source: Roku Ads: how much does it cost to advertise on Roku
- Manual bid or delivery controls Partly
An optional maximum bid.
Source: Roku Ads: how much does it cost to advertise on Roku
The Trade Desk notes
- Self-serve buying Stated
The DSP page describes a "simple self-serve experience".
- Attribution to visits or sales Partly
Measurement through a marketplace of measurement partners, online and in-store.
Source: The Trade Desk homepage
- Named measurement partners Partly
A marketplace of measurement partners; partner names are not on the pages we read.
Source: The Trade Desk homepage
- Brand-safety partner named Partly
States a marketplace of "data, measurement, brand safety, and inventory providers"; names are not on the pages we read.
- Enterprise terms or account team Partly
"Get started" leads to a sales contact form.
Source: The Trade Desk homepage
- Other channels in the same platform Stated
Audio, connected TV, digital out-of-home, mobile, display, native and video.
- AI or automated optimization Stated
Kokai "analyzes up to 15 million ad opportunities each second".
Who might shortlist each?
Roku Ads Manager fits if: you want to test on Roku with a small first budget and existing creative.
Look elsewhere if: you need measurement or a wide list of named streaming services described up front.
The Trade Desk fits if: your team or agency already buys programmatic media and wants CTV in the same seat.
Look elsewhere if: you want to sign up and launch without a sales conversation.
Which limits does each list?
Roku Ads Manager
- LimitMeasurement and attribution are not described on the page we read.
- LimitInventory beyond Roku is not described on the page we read.
- LimitPricing is dynamic, with no fixed CPM published.
The Trade Desk
- LimitNo public pricing, fees or minimum on the pages we read; access starts with a contact form.
- LimitNamed CTV publishers and measurement partners are not on the pages we read.
- LimitA managed service option is not described on the pages we read.