SIDE BY SIDE · NO SCORES
Roku Ads Manager vs Universal Ads: what each platform's own pages state
QUICK ANSWER
Roku Ads Manager is described as publisher ad managers; Universal Ads as publisher ad managers. Of our 19 checks, both state 0: none. Only Roku Ads Manager states none; only Universal Ads states self-serve buying and published reach or channel count. This page compares what each publishes, not how well either performs.
By The Tuning Desk · CTV Ad Finder · Published 2026-10-18
Built only from each platform's own public pages. We opened no accounts, bought no media and held no demos or vendor interviews.
Roku Ads Manager
- 01Self-serve buying Partly
The cost guide describes launching with existing creative, an optional maximum bid and pay-as-it-delivers billing.
Source: Roku Ads: how much does it cost to advertise on Roku
- 02Managed service option Not on the pages we read
- 03No-commitment or no-minimum terms Partly
No upfront payment: "Pay as your campaign delivers". The $500 figure is guidance, not a stated minimum.
Source: Roku Ads: how much does it cost to advertise on Roku
- 04Incrementality or lift testing Not on the pages we read
- 05Attribution to visits or sales Not on the pages we read
- 06Named measurement partners Not on the pages we read
- 07Brand-safety partner named Not on the pages we read
- 08Campaigns in plain language Not on the pages we read
- Stated on the platform's pages
- Partly stated
- Not on the pages we read
Universal Ads
- 01Self-serve buying Stated
"Self-Serve CTV & TV Advertising Platform"; "Launch in Minutes".
Source: Universal Ads homepage
- 02Managed service option Not on the pages we read
- 03No-commitment or no-minimum terms Not on the pages we read
- 04Incrementality or lift testing Not on the pages we read
- 05Attribution to visits or sales Partly
Verified partners for cross-channel measurement; methods not described on the homepage.
Source: Universal Ads homepage
- 06Named measurement partners Partly
Verified measurement partners; names not in the page text.
Source: Universal Ads homepage
- 07Brand-safety partner named Not on the pages we read
- 08Campaigns in plain language Not on the pages we read
- Stated on the platform's pages
- Partly stated
- Not on the pages we read
How do Roku Ads Manager and Universal Ads compare on the published facts?
Scroll the table sideways
| Fact | Roku Ads Manager | Universal Ads |
|---|---|---|
| Owner | Roku. Source: Roku Ads: how much does it cost to advertise on Roku | A testimonial on the homepage says "Comcast's Universal Ads"; a formal ownership statement is not on the page we read. Source: Universal Ads homepage |
| How you buy | Roku's cost guide (February 25, 2026) walks through starting a campaign with your existing creative, setting an optional maximum bid and paying as the campaign delivers. Source: Roku Ads: how much does it cost to advertise on Roku | "Self-Serve CTV & TV Advertising Platform" with a "familiar, self-serve workflow" and "Launch in Minutes". Source: Universal Ads homepage |
| Entry terms | Guidance, not a stated hard minimum: "get started with existing creative and as little as $500", and $500–$1,000 is enough to get a campaign live for most first-time advertisers, per Roku's guide dated February 25, 2026. Source: Roku Ads: how much does it cost to advertise on Roku | Minimum spend and CPM are not stated on the homepage. Not published Source: Universal Ads homepage |
| Pricing | "CPM pricing model"; "Pricing is dynamic"; no upfront payment: "Pay as your campaign delivers". Source: Roku Ads: how much does it cost to advertise on Roku | "no hidden fees". Rates are not stated on the homepage. Not published Source: Universal Ads homepage |
| Inventory | Inventory beyond Roku is not described on the page we read. Source: Roku Ads: how much does it cost to advertise on Roku | "Reach up to 90% of US households"; Universal Ads states access to 20+ TV brands through the "Universal Audience Network" (network names are not in the page text). Source: Universal Ads homepage |
| Measurement | Measurement and attribution are not described on the page we read. Source: Roku Ads: how much does it cost to advertise on Roku | Verified partners for creative, analytics, audiences and cross-channel measurement; partner names are not in the page text. Source: Universal Ads homepage |
| AI and automation | An "AI video upscaler" for creative. AI optimization is not described on the page we read. Source: Roku Ads: how much does it cost to advertise on Roku | A creative tool that "turns your existing content into TV ads". AI optimization is not described on the page we read. Source: Universal Ads homepage |
Check by check
Scroll the table sideways
| Check | Roku Ads Manager | Universal Ads |
|---|---|---|
| Self-serve buying | Partly | Stated |
| Managed service option | Not on the pages we read | Not on the pages we read |
| No-commitment or no-minimum terms | Partly | Not on the pages we read |
| Incrementality or lift testing | Not on the pages we read | Not on the pages we read |
| Attribution to visits or sales | Not on the pages we read | Partly |
| Named measurement partners | Not on the pages we read | Partly |
| Brand-safety partner named | Not on the pages we read | Not on the pages we read |
| Campaigns in plain language | Not on the pages we read | Not on the pages we read |
| Outcome or CPA pricing option | Not on the pages we read | Not on the pages we read |
| Enterprise terms or account team | Not on the pages we read | Not on the pages we read |
| Agency licensing or multi-account access | Not on the pages we read | Not on the pages we read |
| Netflix listed | Not on the pages we read | Not on the pages we read |
| Prime Video listed | Not on the pages we read | Not on the pages we read |
| Disney+ or Hulu listed | Not on the pages we read | Not on the pages we read |
| Published reach or channel count | Not on the pages we read | Stated |
| Linear TV buying | Not on the pages we read | Partly |
| Other channels in the same platform | Not on the pages we read | Not on the pages we read |
| AI or automated optimization | Not on the pages we read | Not on the pages we read |
| Manual bid or delivery controls | Partly | Not on the pages we read |
Roku Ads Manager notes
- Self-serve buying Partly
The cost guide describes launching with existing creative, an optional maximum bid and pay-as-it-delivers billing.
Source: Roku Ads: how much does it cost to advertise on Roku
- No-commitment or no-minimum terms Partly
No upfront payment: "Pay as your campaign delivers". The $500 figure is guidance, not a stated minimum.
Source: Roku Ads: how much does it cost to advertise on Roku
- Manual bid or delivery controls Partly
An optional maximum bid.
Source: Roku Ads: how much does it cost to advertise on Roku
Universal Ads notes
- Self-serve buying Stated
"Self-Serve CTV & TV Advertising Platform"; "Launch in Minutes".
Source: Universal Ads homepage
- Attribution to visits or sales Partly
Verified partners for cross-channel measurement; methods not described on the homepage.
Source: Universal Ads homepage
- Named measurement partners Partly
Verified measurement partners; names not in the page text.
Source: Universal Ads homepage
- Published reach or channel count Stated
"Reach up to 90% of US households".
Source: Universal Ads homepage
- Linear TV buying Partly
Calls itself a "CTV & TV" platform; linear buying is not detailed on the homepage.
Source: Universal Ads homepage
Who might shortlist each?
Roku Ads Manager fits if: you want to test on Roku with a small first budget and existing creative.
Look elsewhere if: you need measurement or a wide list of named streaming services described up front.
Universal Ads fits if: you want self-serve access to a large TV network group's audience with your existing creative.
Look elsewhere if: you need named networks, named measurement partners or incrementality testing described up front.
Which limits does each list?
Roku Ads Manager
- LimitMeasurement and attribution are not described on the page we read.
- LimitInventory beyond Roku is not described on the page we read.
- LimitPricing is dynamic, with no fixed CPM published.
Universal Ads
- LimitMinimum spend and CPM are not stated on the homepage.
- LimitNetwork names and measurement partners are not in the page text.
- LimitIncrementality testing is not described on the page we read.