Skip to content
CTV Ad Finder

SIDE BY SIDE · NO SCORES

The Trade Desk vs Universal Ads: what each platform's own pages state

QUICK ANSWER

The Trade Desk is described as multi-channel DSPs; Universal Ads as publisher ad managers. Of our 19 checks, both state 1: self-serve buying. Only The Trade Desk states other channels in the same platform and AI or automated optimization; only Universal Ads states published reach or channel count. This page compares what each publishes, not how well either performs.

By The Tuning Desk · CTV Ad Finder · Published 2026-10-18

Built only from each platform's own public pages. We opened no accounts, bought no media and held no demos or vendor interviews.

The Trade Desk

The Trade Desk test card: stated 1 of 8, partly 3, not on the pages we read 4.12345678
  1. 01Self-serve buying Stated

    The DSP page describes a "simple self-serve experience".

    Source: The Trade Desk: our demand-side platform

  2. 02Managed service option Not on the pages we read
  3. 03No-commitment or no-minimum terms Not on the pages we read
  4. 04Incrementality or lift testing Not on the pages we read
  5. 05Attribution to visits or sales Partly

    Measurement through a marketplace of measurement partners, online and in-store.

    Source: The Trade Desk homepage

  6. 06Named measurement partners Partly

    A marketplace of measurement partners; partner names are not on the pages we read.

    Source: The Trade Desk homepage

  7. 07Brand-safety partner named Partly

    States a marketplace of "data, measurement, brand safety, and inventory providers"; names are not on the pages we read.

    Source: The Trade Desk: our demand-side platform

  8. 08Campaigns in plain language Not on the pages we read
  • Stated on the platform's pages
  • Partly stated
  • Not on the pages we read
A filled bar means the platform's own pages state that feature on the date shown. It does not measure how well the feature works, and a dotted bar means only that we did not find it on the pages we read.

Universal Ads

Universal Ads test card: stated 1 of 8, partly 2, not on the pages we read 5.12345678
  1. 01Self-serve buying Stated

    "Self-Serve CTV & TV Advertising Platform"; "Launch in Minutes".

    Source: Universal Ads homepage

  2. 02Managed service option Not on the pages we read
  3. 03No-commitment or no-minimum terms Not on the pages we read
  4. 04Incrementality or lift testing Not on the pages we read
  5. 05Attribution to visits or sales Partly

    Verified partners for cross-channel measurement; methods not described on the homepage.

    Source: Universal Ads homepage

  6. 06Named measurement partners Partly

    Verified measurement partners; names not in the page text.

    Source: Universal Ads homepage

  7. 07Brand-safety partner named Not on the pages we read
  8. 08Campaigns in plain language Not on the pages we read
  • Stated on the platform's pages
  • Partly stated
  • Not on the pages we read
A filled bar means the platform's own pages state that feature on the date shown. It does not measure how well the feature works, and a dotted bar means only that we did not find it on the pages we read.

How do The Trade Desk and Universal Ads compare on the published facts?

Scroll the table sideways

FactThe Trade DeskUniversal Ads
Owner

A public company with an investor relations site.

Source: The Trade Desk investor relations

A testimonial on the homepage says "Comcast's Universal Ads"; a formal ownership statement is not on the page we read.

Source: Universal Ads homepage

How you buy

Its DSP page describes a "simple self-serve experience"; the homepage "Get started" button leads to a contact form (name, work email, company).

Source: The Trade Desk: our demand-side platform

"Self-Serve CTV & TV Advertising Platform" with a "familiar, self-serve workflow" and "Launch in Minutes".

Source: Universal Ads homepage

Entry terms

No public pricing or minimum on the pages we read.

Source: The Trade Desk homepage

Minimum spend and CPM are not stated on the homepage. Not published

Source: Universal Ads homepage

Pricing

Fees are not stated on the pages we read. Not published

Source: The Trade Desk: our demand-side platform

"no hidden fees". Rates are not stated on the homepage. Not published

Source: Universal Ads homepage

Inventory

An omnichannel DSP for audio, connected TV, digital out-of-home, mobile, display, native and video. It states "we don't own or operate media". Named CTV publishers are not stated on the pages we read. Not published

Source: The Trade Desk: our demand-side platform

"Reach up to 90% of US households"; Universal Ads states access to 20+ TV brands through the "Universal Audience Network" (network names are not in the page text).

Source: Universal Ads homepage

Measurement

A marketplace of measurement partners, online and in-store. Partner names are not on the pages we read.

Source: The Trade Desk homepage

Verified partners for creative, analytics, audiences and cross-channel measurement; partner names are not in the page text.

Source: Universal Ads homepage

AI and automation

Kokai, which The Trade Desk says "analyzes up to 15 million ad opportunities each second".

Source: The Trade Desk: our demand-side platform

A creative tool that "turns your existing content into TV ads". AI optimization is not described on the page we read.

Source: Universal Ads homepage

Check by check

Scroll the table sideways

CheckThe Trade DeskUniversal Ads
Self-serve buyingStatedStated
Managed service optionNot on the pages we readNot on the pages we read
No-commitment or no-minimum termsNot on the pages we readNot on the pages we read
Incrementality or lift testingNot on the pages we readNot on the pages we read
Attribution to visits or salesPartlyPartly
Named measurement partnersPartlyPartly
Brand-safety partner namedPartlyNot on the pages we read
Campaigns in plain languageNot on the pages we readNot on the pages we read
Outcome or CPA pricing optionNot on the pages we readNot on the pages we read
Enterprise terms or account teamPartlyNot on the pages we read
Agency licensing or multi-account accessNot on the pages we readNot on the pages we read
Netflix listedNot on the pages we readNot on the pages we read
Prime Video listedNot on the pages we readNot on the pages we read
Disney+ or Hulu listedNot on the pages we readNot on the pages we read
Published reach or channel countNot on the pages we readStated
Linear TV buyingNot on the pages we readPartly
Other channels in the same platformStatedNot on the pages we read
AI or automated optimizationStatedNot on the pages we read
Manual bid or delivery controlsNot on the pages we readNot on the pages we read
The Trade Desk notes
Universal Ads notes
  • Self-serve buying Stated

    "Self-Serve CTV & TV Advertising Platform"; "Launch in Minutes".

    Source: Universal Ads homepage

  • Attribution to visits or sales Partly

    Verified partners for cross-channel measurement; methods not described on the homepage.

    Source: Universal Ads homepage

  • Named measurement partners Partly

    Verified measurement partners; names not in the page text.

    Source: Universal Ads homepage

  • Published reach or channel count Stated

    "Reach up to 90% of US households".

    Source: Universal Ads homepage

  • Linear TV buying Partly

    Calls itself a "CTV & TV" platform; linear buying is not detailed on the homepage.

    Source: Universal Ads homepage

Who might shortlist each?

The Trade Desk fits if: your team or agency already buys programmatic media and wants CTV in the same seat.

Look elsewhere if: you want to sign up and launch without a sales conversation.

Universal Ads fits if: you want self-serve access to a large TV network group's audience with your existing creative.

Look elsewhere if: you need named networks, named measurement partners or incrementality testing described up front.

Which limits does each list?

The Trade Desk

  • LimitNo public pricing, fees or minimum on the pages we read; access starts with a contact form.
  • LimitNamed CTV publishers and measurement partners are not on the pages we read.
  • LimitA managed service option is not described on the pages we read.

Universal Ads

  • LimitMinimum spend and CPM are not stated on the homepage.
  • LimitNetwork names and measurement partners are not in the page text.
  • LimitIncrementality testing is not described on the page we read.

Frequently asked questions

Is The Trade Desk or Universal Ads the better choice?

Neither, in general. It depends on your answers: run the finder to see which one's published facts match your budget terms, measurement needs and inventory. This page lists what each states, with sources.

Which of The Trade Desk and Universal Ads describes incrementality testing?

The Trade Desk: Not on the pages we read. Universal Ads: Not on the pages we read.

Do The Trade Desk and Universal Ads publish a minimum spend?

The Trade Desk: No public pricing or minimum on the pages we read. Universal Ads: Minimum spend and CPM are not stated on the homepage.